This year’s Celeste Prize winners!

celeste prize

5 winners for Celeste Prize 2010 were chosen on 11 December by fellow artists during exhibition in New York. All 50 finalist artists share in the 40,000 Euro awards.
Hundreds of visitors and friends came to the awards at the The Invisible Dog Art Center in Brooklyn, New York, as part of a three day exhibition which ends on 13 December.  Videos and audio-visual sets were performed on a special wide-screen prepared for the occasion in a 3-hour live media set.

Painting Prize

Gianni Politi – On feeling sacrificable
Elizabeth McDonald – Psychic Healing For Alligators
Emanuela Lena – contextus # 15
Bettina Patermo – different ways to take a bath 1, fuerteventura

Photography & Digital Graphics Prize

Fabiano Parisi – Il mondo che non vedo 01
Tania Brassesco & Lazlo Passi Norberto – Pot Pourri
Jay L – Venice, March 2010

Installation & Sculpture Prize
Lisa Wade – Inverted Shelter
Denise Hickey – An army of birds
Helena Hamilton – To Whom It May Concern (IEQUALSYOUEQUALSWEEQUALSME)..

Video & Animation Prize

Ed Purver – In residence
Shahar Marcus – homecoming artist
David Altobelli – By Some Miracle

Live Media & Performance Prize

fuse* -  Corpo Elettrico 2.0
Bruno Costarelli – Paradox
KaFai Choi – Eternal Summer Storm

Enjoy your viewing!

Presenting finalists of Celeste Prize 2010 Awards


The names of the 50 finalists who will exhibit their works in New York 11-13 December and vote 40,000 Euro prize money have been chosen by Celeste jurors Julia Draganovic and Mark Gisbourne and the 21 member selection committee.

View works by finalist artists:

View works by shortlisted artists:

View Exhibition details:

Painting Prize finalists:

Luca Bray – From Peking to Beijing
Bella Easton – Three way control
Stephen Felmingham – Temple of the Subliminaut
Aleksandra Jarosz Laszlo – Cumulonimbusmoln
Emanuela Lena – contextus # 15
Elizabeth McDonald – Psychic Healing for Alligators
Bettina Patermo – different ways to take a bath 1, fuerteventura
Johanna Perret – Selfportrait
Wendy Plovmand – Fantasy
Gianni Politi – On feeling sacrificable

Photography & Digital Graphics finalists:

Elvira Biatta – Giovanna d’Arco
Hampus Alexander Bjorklund – Before the storm!
Tania Brassesco & Lazlo Passi Norberto – Pot Pourri
Ether – deep summer
Claudio Allia’s work Everydaydream #4
Jay L – From “Venice, March 2010”
Fabiano Parisi – Il mondo che non vedo 01
Piero Steinle – the dead sea will be a lot of fun
Paola Sunday – Fabbrica (from “That’s all, folks!” project)
Liz West – Red Trolley

Video & Animation Prize finalists:

David Altobelli – By Some Miracle
Andy Others – Abito qui…!
Pooja Iranna – Another New Beginning
Pia Lindman – Milk of Magnesia
Shahar Marcus – homecoming artist
Shahar Marcus – The fathers have eaten sour grapes
Ed Purver – In Residence
Marinella Senatore – How do u kill the chemist
Paola Sunday – MADRE
Alexey Terehoff – Lights

Installation, Sculpture & Performance Prize finalists:

Bonhomme Daniel – Technique de la schizophrénie
Leonardo Gutiérrez Guerra – no title
Joshua Hagler – A Fossilizing Towards, The Name Engorged by Capillarity
Helena Hamilton – To Whom It May Concern (IEQUALSYOUEQUALSWEEQUALSME) – Remain Alive
Denise Hickey – an Army of birds
Jesper Norda – The centre of silence
JeongHo Park – Destroy monolith
Piero Steinle – The Triumph of Laughter
Lisa Wade – Inverted Shelter

Live Media Prize finalists:

Abstract Birds – Genesi
Bruno Costarelli – Paradox
R. Luke DuBois – Synaesthetic Object (Coltrane)
Fuse* – Corpo Elettrico 2.0
KaFai Choy – Eternal Summer Storm
André Gonçalves – For Super 8 Projector and Analogue Synthesizer
Olga Mink – Atlantida
Olga Mink – chance machine
Teatrino Elettrico – DC12V
Telcosystems – Mortals Electric

Final Exhibition: 11-13 December 2010
Voting and Awards ceremony: 11 December 2010
at The Invisible Dog,
51 Bergen street, Brooklyn, NY, 11201, USA.

Order your copy of the catalogue:

Festival Sponsored by Revolutionart Magazine

Revolutionart presents the winners of Celeste Prize


Artists themselves vote 40,000 Euro prize money in Berlin, Germany.

Five artists were awarded 40,000 Euro in a secret vote on 26 September by fellow Celeste Prize finalists. The awards ceremony and exhibition took place at the old Berlin City electricity generating plant, Alte AEG Fabrik, as part of a four day exhibition which ended on 28 September during Berlin’s Art Forum week. Hundreds of visitors came to the exhibtion the night before the awards ceremony to watch five, international audio-visual artists perform in a five-hour live media set.



Jurors’ comments made at the awards ceremony:

Adrienne Goehler:
"We are all very happy with the quality of work in this exhibition, and with all the other events happening in Berlin like Art Forum and Kunsthalle, both of us are totally convinced that the quality of this exhibition is on the same level, and I would dare to say it is even better than at least 50% of what we saw, and so big congratulations to everyone who participated."

Mark Gisbourne:
" I was so delighted with the exhibition, there is an enormous diversity and it’s exemplary of the contemporary world and contemporary art practice that we live in a world where people sing many songs. I hope that you find in the exhibition that we have in some way represented the different songs sung by different people in different parts of the world. Those that have made it represent quality that is commensurate with anything we have seen at Art Forum this week."


Results for the Painting Prize, 8,000 Euro to the winner

Winner – Michael Luther – Gallery (Desk)
Second – Nasser Lubay – Rebirth
Third – Juraj Kollar – Landscape

Results for the Photography & Digital Graphics Prize, 8,000 Euro to the winner

Winner – Olivier Fermariello – Monsieur et Madame Vieille à la plage
Second – Robert Mercer – JumpinJackFlash
Third – Christof Pluemacher – Architectural Misfits (Alpenstadt)

Results for the Installation, Sculpture & Performance Prize, 8,000 Euro to the winner

Winner – Clement Price-Thomas – The Guide
Second – Jan Fabián – Good Times are Over
Equal third – Aesop Studios – Quintetto
Equal third – Jens Reinert – Tunnel

Results for the Video & Animation Prize, 8,000 Euro to the winner

Winner – Surabhi Saraf – Peel
Second – Aliaksei Tserakhau – Lyapis Trubetskoy «Capital»
Equal third – Patrick Bergeron – LoopLoop
Equal third – Miguel Jara – Abelianas

Results for the Live Media Prize, 8,000 Euro to the winner

Winner – Otolab dies Orgone – L C M
Second – Dome – Solitude
Third – Abstract Birds – Celeste Motus

To see photos of the event:

Celeste Prize is an international contemporary arts prize. The call for works for the first edition of Celeste Prize ended 7 July 2009 with 1,425 works presented. Jurors, Mark Gisbourne, Adrienne Goehler and Victoria Lu, and Claudio Sinatti selected the 46 finalist works on exhibition in Berlin.